Our approach

Our foundation

high interval energy data

Our tools

software platform

Our expertise

local energy markets

Our goal

rapid transition to renewable energy

Energy data is collected by smart meters on a large scale. Utilizing this data in the right way, we can use renewable energy more efficiently .
We offer a data analytics engine and various visualization techniques for energy data. Our mission is making the best out of energy data instead of letting them rest on servers only.
Our flagship service is a local energy market - a billing tool for energy providers that allows their customers to exchange electricity directly. Our in-depth expertise gained in the Quartierstrom project - Switzerland's first local energy market - will help energy providers revolutionize their billing.
The future will be green - we are very sure of that. Our solution makes the energy transition financially more attractive for both, energy providers and their customers.

Our products and services

For energy providers

The software platform for your data-based business models

For end-users

An app for households, photovoltaic owners, and small businesses that makes your energy data transparent and easy-to-understand

Our experience from the Quartierstrom project

Exnaton products build on our experience and know-how gained in the research project Quartierstrom , which all of the Exnaton team members have considerably pushed forward during their PhDs at ETH Zurich and the University of St. Gallen. We built the software of Switzerland's first local energy market and tested it in a pilot project. In January 2019, 37 households from Walenstadt (Switzerland) joined our local energy community. PV-owners sold their locally produced electricity to their neighbors in Walenstadt. A web application offered in-depth insights into their personal electricity data. The user response was overwhelming.

What happened to an anonymous grid in the Quartierstrom research project?

anonymous households

proof-of-concept
stable software
overwhelming user response
awarded with SDG award by SGES

Quartierstrom partners

Quartierstrom in the media

In 2020, the story continues

Exnaton is proud to announce the second pilot project in Walenstadt (Switzerland). Following the success of the first project, we now focus on building a scalable product. The project won the 2020 Smart City Innovation Challenge by Energieschweiz. More infos to follow soon!

Sign up to our newsletter

Stay updated with news about our products and services!

*indicates required

Get in touch

Contact Details

c/o ETH Entrepreneurclub, Stampfenbachstrasse 52, 8006 Zurich, Switzerland
Thank you. Your message is on its way :)
Sorry, don't know what happened. Try later :(

Exnaton team

Meghna

Liliane Ableitner, PhD

Co-Founder & CEO

Liliane contributes the product perspective and her organizational talent to the team. Her background is in information systems in which she graduated as a PhD from ETH Zurich. During her PhD and in the Quartierstrom project, she was responsible for the front-end conceptualization, development of the web application, and user studies. Relying on her competencies in field research, she knows how to identify user needs.

Meghna

Arne Meeuw, PhD

Co-Founder & CTO

Arne has been fascinated by technology his whole life. He is a true builder who does not shy away from any technical challenge. After his studies in mechanical engineering, he joined the Bosch IoT Lab at ETH Zurich and University of St. Gallen where he pursued his PhD. Arne was the lead developer of the Quartierstrom project, built the entire decentralized infrastructure and the data interfaces, as well as the deployment system.

Meghna

Anselma Wörner

Co-founder

Anselma enriches the team with her strong analytical skills. Having gained early experience in major technology (IBM, SAP) and consulting companies (McKinsey, Horvath & Partners), she is currently pursuing her PhD at ETH Zurich. In that context, she was responsible for the market design of Quartierstrom. Anselma will be spending a research visit in Stanford at the beginning of 2020. After that she will join the Exnaton team.

You are interested in a strategic cooperation? Contact us for a pitchdeck or a product demo.

Unser Vorgehen

Unsere Grundlage

hochaufgelöste Energiedaten

Unsere Werkzeuge

Software Plattform

Unsere Expertise

lokale Energiemärkte

Unser Ziel

schnellere Energiewende

Energiedaten werden schon heute vermehrt mit der Hilfe von Smart Metern erhoben. Wenn wir diese Daten gezielt einsetzen, können wir erneuerbare Energie effizienter nutzen.
Wir sind Spezialisten für Datenanalyse und Visualisierung. Damit holen wir das Beste aus Energiedaten und stellen sicher, dass diese nicht unnötig erfasst werden.
Unser tiefes Expertenwissen aus dem Quartierstrom Projekt - dem ersten lokalen Energiemarkt der Schweiz - hilft Energieversorgern dabei, ihre Abrechnung zu revolutionieren.
Die Zukunft ist grün - davon sind wir überzeugt. Mit unserem Ansatz machen wir die Energiewende finanziell attraktiver, sowohl für Energieversorger als auch für Endverbraucher.

Unsere Produkte und Services

Für Energieversorger

Die Software-Plattform für neue datengetriebene Geschäftsmodelle

Für Endkunden

Eine App, die Energiedaten transparent und einfach verständlich für Haushalte, Photovoltaikanlagenbesitzer und Kleinunternehmen aufbereitet

Unsere Erfahrung aus dem Pilotprojekt Quartierstrom

Die Produkte von Exnaton bauen auf unserer Erfahrung und unserem Know-How aus dem Forschungsprojekt Quartierstrom auf, das die Mitglieder des Exnaton Teams während ihrer Forschung an der ETH Zürich und der Universität St. Gallen gemeinsam zu grossem Anteil vorangetrieben haben. Wir haben die Software für den ersten lokalen Energiemarkt der Schweiz gebaut und in einem Pilotprojekt getestet. Im Januar 2019 schlossen sich 37 Haushalte aus Walenstadt (Schweiz) unserem lokalen Strommarktplatz an. Als Teil des lokalen Energiemarktes handelten sie ihren lokal produzierten Strom mit den Nachbarn in Walenstadt. Eine Webapplikation bot ihnen einen neuen Einblick in ihre persönlichen Stromdaten. Die Resonanz der Nutzer war überwältigend.

Was ist im Quartierstrom Forschungsprojekt mit einem anonymen Netzwerk passiert?

Haushalte im Quartier

Proof-of-Concept
stabile Software
überwältigendes Feedback
ausgezeichnet mit dem SDG Award vom SGES

Quartierstrom Partner

Quartierstrom in den Medien

2020 gehen wir den nächsten Schritt

Wir freuen uns euch unser zweites Pilotprojekt in Walenstadt vorzustellen. Aufbauend auf dem Erfolg unseres ersten Projektes, fokussieren wir uns jetzt auf die Realisierung eines skalierbaren Produkts. Das Projekt hat die Smart City Innovation Challenge 2020 von Energieschweiz gewonnen. Mehr Details folgen bald.

Abonniert unseren Newsletter

Bleibt auf dem Laufenden mit Neuigkeiten über unsere Produkte und Services!

*Pflichtfeld

Kontaktiert uns direkt

Kontaktdetails

c/o ETH Entrepreneursclub, Stampfenbachstrasse 52, 8006 Zürich, Schweiz
Vielen Dank. Deine Nachricht ist unterwegs :)
Tut uns leid, etwas ist schiefgelaufen. Bitte versuch es erneut :(

Exnaton Team

Meghna

Liliane Ableitner, PhD

Co-Founder & CEO

Liliane bringt eine Produktperspektive und ihr Organisationstalent in unser Team ein. Sie hat Wirtschaftinformatik studiert und in dem Bereich an der ETH Zürich promoviert. Während ihrer Doktorarbeit und im Projekt Quartierstrom war sie für die Front-End-Konzeption, Entwicklung der Webapplikation und Nutzungsstudien verantwortlich. Aufgrund ihrer Kompetenzen in der experimentellen Forschung weiss sie, wie man die Bedürfnisse der Benutzerinnen und Benutzer identifiziert.

Meghna

Arne Meeuw, PhD

Co-Founder & CTO

Arne ist schon sein ganzes Leben lang von Technik fasziniert. Er ist ein echter Baumeister, der keine technische Herausforderung scheut. Nach seinem Maschinenbaustudium in München trat er in das Bosch IoT-Lab der ETH Zürich und der Universität St. Gallen ein, wo er 2019 promovierte. Arne war federführend bei der Entwicklung der Software für Quartierstrom, dem Aufbau der dezentralen Infrastruktur, der Datenschnittstellen sowie dem Deployment-System.

Meghna

Anselma Wörner

Co-Founder

Anselma bereichert unser Team mit ihren starken analytischen Fähigkeiten. Nachdem sie bereits früh Erfahrungen in grossen Technologie- (IBM, SAP) und Beratungsunternehmen (McKinsey, Horvath & Partners) gesammelt hat, promoviert sie derzeit ebenfalls an der ETH Zürich. Sie war für das Marktdesign von Quartierstrom verantwortlich und absolviert im Moment einen Forschungsaufenthalt in Stanford. Im Anschluss an ihre Promotion wird sie dem Exnaton-Team in Vollzeit beitreten.

Ihr seid an einer strategischen Zusammenarbeit interessiert? Kontaktiert uns für ein Pitchdeck oder eine Produkt-Demo.